WY Elk General tag 2019

Irrelevant

So I've got 5 pnts. I'm the only one in my group of hunting partners with than many, everyone else is in the 1-2 point range. I'll probably try to sucker someone into going, if for nothing else than someone to share the packout suckfest with. 5 pnts (or less) seems to me to be in no-man's land, a couple more and there's quite a few options, but with point creep I'm not sure I'll ever get there. I really want to try WY elk this next year, I've been doing ID non-resident for a couple years now and just looking to try something different. I think a general tag, is going to be the ticket, probably focus on 7-10 days in the middle of Sept for archery. I've been looking at the western and southern Wyoming Range in general and think I've found a couple of potential honey holes within a manageable packout distance (~5 miles). If anyone has any other ideas or recommendations shoot me a PM I'd love to chat with about anyone who's been there during that time. I'm trying to get a feel for hunting pressure, bears, and just general expectations. I may need to lug the family back there in August for some scouting, but I'd really prefer to save that vacation time for actual hunting. If nothing else I'd love to hear what people's opinions are of the published harvest rates vs personal experience.

Southern Wyoming range might have sheep issues, meaning domestic sheep grazing and pushing out the elk in the area. You'll have grizz issues perhaps, they wander down that way.
Neat country to hunt but the sheep affect it.

Southern Wyoming range might have sheep issues, meaning domestic sheep grazing and pushing out the elk in the area. You'll have grizz issues perhaps, they wander down that way.
Neat country to hunt but the sheep affect it.