Wyoming Corner Crossing

LKG

Hello, I am a newbie poster here planning an eastern Wyoming WhiteTail hunt late November. I apologize if this is not the ideal place to post this. Being much of the public in this area that looks like it will hold whitetail is land locked I am trying to find different points of entry. I am wondering if anyone has any experience with corner crossing in Wyoming. Online the state game and fish website seems to have some funny language basically saying there is no precedent set. A partner on this trip did send an email to fish and game that said each county views the issue differently. Along those same lines I was wondering if anyone has experience with accessing public ground via waterways. Any insight or experiences would be great to hear.

Welcome to the site. Which tag do you have? I spent some time out there in Eastern WY in Sept. and Oct. - might be able to help a little. In general, corner crossing is a no-no. Stupid Fn rule that drives everyone crazy. I have heard some counties won't prosecute it. I also heard don't dare do it in Niobrara county as they will prosecute. If you have deep pockets I think we really need someone to go out, wait for a ticket, take it to court and win. Personally I like to hunt there, but I don't want to drive back out to go to court so I don't push it.
I'm guessing you are wondering about accessing some land by canoe or kayak. I hunted around the Cheyennee river bottoms a little and found that the water is not deep enough to be able to float a canoe for very far, I think you would end up dragging it a lot.
A couple HT guys had 6,7,8 whitetail tags and got onto some private land for whitetails by knocking on doors. be prepared for plenty of NOs but you may find someone.