PEAX Equipment

New to mule deer please help

WVpseguy

Hello everyone as the title says I'm new to mule deer hunting and I'm so confused with the way western states do things. I live in West Virginia and here we just buy tags and go hunting, no zones and point systems. I'm an avid whitetail hunter and I'm wanting to chase spot and stalk mulie. I am not set on 1 specific state, I just want something that's over they counter or easy to draw. I have no clue of good public land or anything. I'm willing to hike in and get away from the crowd. My expectations aren't high either would like.to get a 120 class buck or so but if not then so be it. If you guys could help get me started I would appreciate the info. I will be rifle hunting and I'm planning it for 2019. Thank you guys so much.

I am open to archery also since that's all I hunt with back home. I just want to give myself the highest chance of success possible

There's a whole lot of information on this site. Use the search tool and you'll have plenty of reading on how to find muleys and possibly some information on where to hunt them. Best of luck to you! Welcome to the forum!

Welcome aboard. Join mule deer foundation and read the magazine from cover to cover. Lots of books in the library is a good place to look.

Welcome to the forum from MS! Mule deer seem to be a lot easier than whitetail (public land) from my experience. There is a whole lot of info on here already so just use the search function. Good luck on your hunt!

Go on the fish and game websites for CO, CA, UT, WY, ID or MT. Look at the draw statistics to determine which units are easy to draw and read the regs to see if the states have OTC tags for non-residents and if so which units. Compare the units you find in this search to each states webmap... every state has one (or get onxmaps) try to find units that have lots of public land; BLM or USFS.