Arizona unit 36c

Tonyw

I am new to hunting and loving every minute of it. My dad and I got drawn for Coues in unit 36c southern Arizona. Wondering if anyone has ever hunted down there. Just an excited new hunter looking for some possible tips. Not asking for honey holes. Thanks in advance.

Get a good map and learn access points. 36c is mostly open, but some. of it has limited access. Like glass eye said, get high and glass. Your ass and eyes should get worn out well before your feet do. If you're in Phoenix, I recommend hitting up Ross outdoors. They will rent you good glass if you don't have any. I prefer swaro 15x56s over a spotter, but good glass, on a good tripod is a godsend for hunting deer or javelina in Az. Find an area with water and food and you'll find Coues. If you get rains, the ocotillos will have leaves. Coues love ocotillo leaves.

Consider finding a path to be near the Reservation border to glass. You did not mention which tag you both have. You will need water and can be warm even on the late December tag. Can be deadly hot on the earlier hunts. Be prepared for traffic stops by Immigration and to encounter other activity including tourists crossing the desert from points south. Usually not too dangerous but it you leave water in your camp or truck then it may be gone when return. Stay safe because is possible to be in the wrong place at the wrong time and become collateral damage. Good luck on your hunt.