Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Is this a weird year for elk?

HCPT

(PSA this is my first post on Hunt Talk Forums...I've been listening to Newberg for about six months now and new to the party!!)

I am hunting southern Idaho OTC. This is just my second year hunting archery elk so don't have a lot of experience with elk this time of year. I have been going up pretty regularly (2-3x/week). I haven't seen nor heard a bull in about 10 days. I keep getting into groups of cows so I am where elk are, but no bulls. So my questions:

1. Is this just an abnormal year with it being so hot and dry and cows aren't cycling yet?

2. Is this pattern localized to this area I am at or are folks experiencing the same issue?

3. Any strategies/tips for these conditions?

I look forward to hearing your replies and getting to know you folks here on Hunt Talk

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong, but I think I heard Randy say cows mainly come into estrus based on the amount of daylight. I'm hunting in Kentucky, and that has been my experience here. He says the rut usually lasts mid September to early October. I'm just waiting patiently for it to kick into high gear.

As far as tips, I honestly have none. This is my first year elk hunting haha. I've just been going out look for good sign to narrow it down to a few areas. I'm also looking for food sources that are as far away from people as possible. Which is quite a task here in KY. Seems like there's a house or a road around every corner.

By your response do you mean "Welcome Aboard" to how this year is going; or "Welcome Aboard" to public land OTC elk hunting in general?

The rut is a but later this year, but judging from the animals others have heard talking and the elk I've see taken, I'd say its right on track. I've missed 4 opportunities and had some uncharacteristic hunting pressure push elk out, otherwise its been above normal elk interaction.