Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

archery practice routines

cheeser

curious to see what practice routines are the norm and others which maybe worth trying.

example: i have been hunting elk with bow 68# draw for 5 yrs.
i try to shoot 60 shots/day
2 sets of 12 arrows at 50 yds
2 set of 20 arrows at 30 yds

the final 20 arrows i am tired and wobbly, but i have 9 dots on my target and my goal is basically put 2 arrows in each dot .

i am a weightlifter and i try to train like my lifting heavy weights and low reps to start and low weight and burn outs to end.

the last set of 20 arrows i am really tired but it makes me have to really concentrate on my mechanics to make consistent decent shots

I avoid shooting too many arrows at a time. If you do, you take a risk of developing a bad form/habits while trying to make the shot when tired. Well in advance of the season, I'll shoot until I feel like it's not smooth, and I'll stop. Closer to season, I'll shoot maybe a dozen arrows, and put the bow away. During season, if I'm hunting around the house, I'll shoot one arrow at a random distance, out to 60 yards, each day with the mindset of that one shot being my one shot in the field.
With the let off of my bow, and the fact that I've been shooting since '82, I don't really need to gain strength, but to keep my form and mind right.
That's just my opinion though.