Yeti GOBOX Collection

Increase Draw Weight Without Retuning?

BackofBeyond

I'm completely new to the world of archery, but I bought my first bow back in June. Initially, I had the shop set it up with a 60 lb. draw weight. My thinking was keep the draw weight down to minimize picking up bad habits while I was initially learning. Time has come, that I'm thinking about slowing upping the draw weight until I hit the 70 lb. max. So my question is, can I up the draw weight without having to retune my cam timing? I don't have a bow press, and I don't want to have to run to the local bow shop for a touch-up. I realize I'll have to adjust my sight, but that's relatively easy turn of the hex key, as is upping the draw weight. Retuning the cams, not so much.

If it's pertinent, it's a Bowtech RealmX, currently at 60 lb, with a 29" draw length.

If you change the weight any substantial amount, yes you may need to retune. A pound or two..you may not, maybe..l
If you don’t have the skill set or equipment to retune your own bow and having it done by someone else is hassle at this time you better off leaving well enough alone. In all honesty any benefit you received by uping your weight is more in perception then actual performance. 60 pounds is plenty for any game in North America

If you are sighted in and ready to go for the season (which is already under way) at 60#, then don't mess with it. You want to make sure you have confidence going into the season.

If you are sighted in and ready to go for the season (which is already under way) at 60#, then don't mess with it. You want to make sure you have confidence going into the season.

I don't have an archery tag this year, I've just gone out and called for friends. I wanted to give myself plenty of time to get comfortable and confident in the shot. I'm a little surprised with how short of a time period it's taken, probably could have hunted this year, but oh well. Rifle season is just around the corner.