Sitka Gear Turkey Tool Belt

Accessing BLM and State Land - Whats Legal??

Four22

There is a 2000 acre parcel of BLM land that back up to a road near where we hunt. There is also an 8700 acre parcel of state land that backs up to one area that we hunt. These areas are shown on the onX overlay for the state.

So my question is.....

How do I go about finding out if it is legal to access the land or if it is leased and closed to hunting? I'm new at this and am trying to learn how to find these answers.

The last thing I want to do is go into an area and get a trespassing fine.....

I don't understand the problem. The BLM has access from the road - so you have access. The state ground contacts ground that you already have access too, so you have access. I must be missing something. If it is state land or BLM land in Wyoming, you can hunt it.

I don't understand the problem. The BLM has access from the road - so you have access. The state ground contacts ground that you already have access too, so you have access. I must be missing something. If it is state land or BLM land in Wyoming, you can hunt it.

This is what I'm trying to clear up... if I can get to it via road I can hunt anything labeled "state land" or "BLM" land without the fear of trespassing.

I wasn't sure if there were some that were off limits or not per state rules/regulations

This is what I'm trying to clear up... if I can get to it via road I can hunt anything labeled "state land" or "BLM" land without the fear of trespassing.

I wasn't sure if there were some that were off limits or not per state rules/regulations

Yes, so long as it's a public road. Some landowners may try to buffalo you by saying they lease the state land, but that's not for hunting rights.

Also, if that state land or BLM is enrolled in an HMA, you should have the HMA permission slip.

. If it is state land or BLM land in Wyoming, you can hunt it.