Looking for a Mentor

MooseBell

This is my first year applying for an elk tag. Unfortunately I did not draw, however I am still trying to get out in the woods for my first public land elk hunt. I am obviously a greenhorn to public land elk hunting so it goes without saying that I am looking for someone that is willing to show me the ropes. I do not expect you to give me your honey holes, I just want to learn the basics so that next year I have a better idea of what I am doing.

A little background: I am 25 years old living in Dallas, TX, been in the woods hunting small game and fishing since I could remember. I got into this public land hunting through BigFin's podcast and TV show and I want to contribute to the thousands of great people who are passionate about public land. I am passionate about conservation and saving our public lands, but most of all I want to procure my own meat.

I am in good shape and willing to pack out an elk however far you are willing to haul it. I won't quit. I won't complain. I am willing to send more information about myself if you message me.

I know this is a long shot, but all this talk I hear about hunter recruitment and retention, it would be great if someone on this forum would step up and give me a shot to learn how to spot and stalk. Therefore, creating a life long hunter who him himself will in turn recruit and retain more hunters for future generations.

Please don't feel bashful about messaging me. I will respond to any inquiry.

Thank you!

Welcome to the forum.... stay around a bit and you will learn a ton just off this site. Good luck in your quest to find a hunting partner. If I did not have a full plate this year I may have given you an offer. Again good luck,
Matt

Hey MooseBell,