Ptarmigans in Colorado

GreenmtnSage

Hey everyone,

I'm fairly new to Colorado and would love to try a Ptarmigan hunt. I understand the inherent challenges hunting above the treeline at elevation, but wonder if anyone out here has managed to bag a few. How important is it to have a good dog? Do you make a few day trip out of it and camp at elevation to save a walk? Is it possible to glass birds among rocks and stalk them, or do you just have to walk and try and flush a few? Any extra information would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Erik

If you spend time on the tundra and pay attention you will encounter White-tailed Ptarmigan. I've led a few hundred people to see ptarmigan both summer and winter. And I've taken a few in season.

My advice is to leave the dog behind and be on the tundra at day break. Listen and glass for moving birds. Some males will still announce their territorial rooster call into late fall. Some will call in flight over a half mile just as they do in spring breeding season display. To see this is one of the greatest experiences in nature, right up there with elk bugling and mountain lions copulating. Check out the rooster calls and clucking sounds on the Cornell Lab of Natural Sounds. If you come upon a family group of ptarmigan, please don't take all of them. If you see five, take two or three at the most. The population will benefit and you'll preserve a good opportunity for next year.

I haven't hunted them in CO, but have ran into a few groups out hiking. The doubt glassing would be very effective as they blend in to the terrain very well. They tend to let you get very close before flushing. One of these years I hope to go chase them with a shotgun, but other seasons always seem to get in the way.

I saw quite a few right at timberline in the Missouri Lakes Basin area when I was hunting up there in Sep 2016. I was close. Pretty cool. Could’ve bagged a quite a few if I had been carrying a shotgun and an upland bird license instead of an elk tag.