how much room for a cape??

tom338

Dreaming big this season.....how much room does a nice (280-320) bull elk cape take cooler and ice wise?? If I score on one I am planning on cooling the cape overnight then putting it in a garbage bag then putting it in a cooler with ice to hopefully keep it from slipping. I do plan on having the ice in heavy duty zip lock bags so the cape does not get wet if the garbage bag leaks. Will this idea work?? Any other suggestions?? Wish dry ice would keep longer....or does it if its in a sealed container. I have never used dry ice before.

I have put a bunch of elk capes in a 70 quart cooler and a 54 quart cooler. I wrapped then around dry ice which I wrapped with card board and then put some dry ice on top of the cape and more card board between the cape and the dry ice. Let them air cool in the shade before icing them down in the cooler. I hope that helps. All capes were fine and the taxi was very happy.

Exactly the info I was looking for. I have some 70 quart Coleman extreme coolers and was wondering about the fit. Good idea with wrapping the cape around the dry ice. Thanks!!

A wet cape will be more likely to result in more of the bacteria that causes hair to slip. Get the cape cool and dry for best results.

My nephew and I learned this lesson the hard way on his first 6 point a few years ago. We shoved a Contractor bagged and taped 10lb ice bag up into the cape like a burrito. The cape was cool and shaded throughout the next 1.5 days (we had pretty high temps that year), but it got damp with leakage/condensation and the hair slipped and it wasn’t usable. It made a pretty Euro Mount, but keep it dry.

I have read somewhere that the dry ice will burn the hide and cause hair to slip if the ice comes in direct contact with the skin. Put something between the skin and ice (newspaper, towels, etc) to protect the skin if using dry ice.