All or Nothing - 2018 Missiouri Breaks Elk

teej89

I've never done one of these before and not too sure how well it'll pan out but I'm going to try and keep it interesting.

Anyways, the story starts back in January, my dad, my buddy Chris, and I have been going to MT to hunt in September and November. This year was the same plan but my bud couldn't do the September elk hunt so he opted to go for just a deer tag and my dad and I were on our own for our elk hunt. Needing a third to help pack, because my dad is 68, I asked my neighbor who's been wanting for us to take him out west for a while now and he instantaneously agreed. I told him it's two trips a total of 16-18 days of vacation and he got the go ahead from his wife and we were getting our applications in.

Long story short... we ended up drawing an either sex rifle tag in the breaks on the CMR. We had all of the odds against us, even when applying my dad didn't even want to put in for a unit, he just wanted to get the general tag and not even try for anything else-. This was one of the few times I was able to look back and say aren't ya glad for listening to me dad. The day I drew I couldn't comprehend what we drew, I was in such shock and here it's my buds first elk hunt ever and my original friend was kicking himself in the arse for having to bail... As soon as we saw the tag I called my dad, half laughing/shaking from excitement, and told him there's no way I can make the family beach trip, that I need to save my vacation and he 100% agreed.