Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Lazy Friends

Gwknowles

Hey guys,
This is my first post. I’m trying to get a group of guys together to go out west on an elk hunt. They talk a big game but when it comes into buying preference points or planning the hunt they all seem to back out. I am going to go in 2019. Anyone else ran into this issue? Anyone from Indiana Kentucky Illinois want to form a group and go out there? If I end up going solo I’m gonna have to go with an outfitter because I have no experience in the mountains. Advice?
GK

Welcome to HuntTalk.

I say leave em behind. They are only in your way.

You don't need an outfitter. You have a year to acquire knowledge and millions of acres of public land await. You won't regret it.

After many trips planned and me still being the only one to go, i started planning trips so it was just me. I tried getting guys to put deposits down, but they never would. Id rather hunt alone than not at all.

You vould also advertise for a hunting buddy on your local foeum or on here and meet up with someone halfway.

Welcome to HuntTalk.

I say leave em behind. They are only in your way.

You don't need an outfitter. You have a year to acquire knowledge and millions of acres of public land await. You won't regret it.

^^This.

I've tried to get guys here to go and same deal, when its time to get serious, they back out. I've been going solo, DIY since 2002. You don't need a guide or outfitter to have a fun hunt.
Read, research, ask questions. Most, if not all information you need is right here.

Stick around and be active and post stories and get into discussions. Let us get to know you. You might find someone to hunt with over time from here. I've met a lot of guys on here and they have become awesome friendships and hunting partners.

Last edited:
I've been in the same boat. Just do it, man. Just go.