A family man's 2018 season log

jeremy.b

Hey all, I'd like to introduce myself, my family and what is shaping up to be a bit of a crazy 2018 season for me.

My name is Jeremy, I was born in Montana, raised in central and northern Idaho and lived the last 19 years in Boise.

In April I moved my wife and 3 boys down to Utah (a door opened up to a new job that we all felt I should pursue).

This is my first attempt at a semi-live ANYTHING so I hope you all will bare with me here! (normally I just lurk on most forums :))

The first reason I'm starting up this semi-live thread is because I love to share my stories and this year is shaping up to have a few to tell.

Another reason is that I love my wife and kids dearly and work very hard to not be away for long periods of time (a week away is a big deal to our family!). That seems like an odd reason to start a semi-live thread doesn't it?

Well, while we all really enjoy reading the stories of folks that spend weeks in the field each fall, I wanted to tell the stories of a family guy who doesn't get out NEARLY as often, but who's stories are (hopefully!) just as memorable.

For fun, here's my 3 boys (ages 5, 3 & 5 months):

uc

The 5 yr old is already doing 4-6 miles and 1000+ ft of elevation with me every few weeks ;):

uc

After meeting my wife, and especially now having our boys, I put keeping meat in the freeze pretty high on my list of priorities each fall.

So generally I apply for easy-to-draw cow elk tags, and not be too choosy while hunting OTC deer/elk if nothing is drawn.

For fun, I also apply for rifle pronghorn in SW Idaho (never drawn yet!) and pronghorn in nothern Montana (family has a great spot we've hunted for years out there when we do draw). I'm still waiting to get the Montana pronghorn results, and this year my party has a pretty decent chance to draw.

The last couple years I began throwing an application into one of the trophy muley units in SW Idaho, never really expecting to draw.