Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

Moving to SoCal

ZackW

Hi all,
The wife and I are up and moving from Wisconsin to San Diego for work. I’ve been hunting for for 25+ years, but very little of it has been out west. I was hoping that someone could give me a rundown of my options in southern california. I plan to do some backpack hunting for mulies to get away from the roads, but have no idea where to begin. I’m open to any suggestions, from deer to ducks to doves, I hunt it all. Any tips, tricks or secret spots would be highly appreciated!! Thanks!
-Zack

Don’t do it... but if you have to.. I killed a lot of deer and in d15, turkeys around Julian, ducks at San jacinto wildlife area and wister/imperial wildlife area, and a x zone Muley every few years. Be sure to apply for tule elk and desert bighorn, can’t shoot those in many other states.. Sacramento valley is second to none for waterfowl, put in the reservation system and make the drive when you get drawn.. hunt the middle of the week when others cant. Join MCC to kill deer or turkeys, or make friends with the Indians, (bring natural ice).. good luck and god bless..

Last edited:
Do what you got to do. Beautiful city. Good experience, but do not expect to hunt much.

Maybe the Calforinios will chime in.

If you come to the Imperial Valley to shoot doves as most of SoCal does, swing by my taxidermy shop and we can chat about hunting. Breck Dickinson Taxidermy

What part of San Diego? There is a fair amount of small game hunting inland like the guys above said, I wouldn't count on great deer or pig hunting, but there's some to be had. I'd suggest taking up saltwater fishing, there are some fantastic opportunities down there.

The biggest mule deer in the state come from the SE desert area D12, but the lowest kill % also belongs to D12

Attachments

• Tony Friley Buck 001.jpg
    Tony Friley Buck 001.jpg
    147.7 KB · Views: 142