Loading Data; Starting Loads?

antelopedundee

In your experience if one was looking to load a cartridge for the first time, what is the likelihood that one will have success [success being measured by group size] by using the lowest starting loads? How common or uncommon is it for the lowest listed load to end up being the load of choice?

I am still learning, but from all I have read and my own (limited) experience, there are 2-4 "velocity nodes" throughout the lowest and highest safe charge range. I have found (and read) that the upper two are either better than their lower counterparts or just as good but faster so most folks will take the highest or second highest node. As such it seems that unless you are really paranoid about overcharge, or totally velocity agnostic, it seems that messing in lower half of book charges is a bit a waste of time/powder.

Adapting to this, rather than starting at the lowest charge and making 10-13 loads spaced 0.5grain apart, I make 10 loads in 0.3grain increments ending at the max book charge. I also note the max book velocity at max charge. When I shoot I start with my lower charge (typically near the mid-point of the book range). I check every case (and bolt lift) for pressure and I check the chrono velocity as i go up. If I see pressure signs or hit max velocity I stop. From there the data usually shows one or two "flat" spots were 2 or 3 charges don't change velocity much. I pick one of those "nodes" and work up 5 loads, in 0.1grain increments having 2 below and 2 above the selected node.

I am sure there a better ways used by better loaders, but it seems to be working for me.