Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

Bullet not grouping

Dewey

I started to work up a load for my 300 win mag using 212 grain Hornady ELD-X bullets with H1000 powder. I started around 74 grains and worked my way up to 77 I believe. I’m at work and I don’t have my note book in front of me. I was at the range shooting at 150 yards and all my bullets did not group. They more or less started left and slowly went right looking like a bad smiley face. I made up 5 shots in each batch and they were all in about a 2” square but stayed in line with each other. They seemed to be slowly tightening up and maybe I just need alittle more powder to get them to come together. Is this a common problem or am I doing something wrong on my end?

Hey Dewey. I'm pretty new to this reloading thing so take what I say with a grain of salt. Did you let your barrel cool a bit between shots? It seems that shot stringing can often be related to that. Another suggestion is to make sure that you're getting a good trigger pull. I know that my shots start stringing like that when I get to my later groups on my '06 because I start getting sore and flinching.

One of the many frustrations with reloading is trying to diagnose these types of things. I really love it, but there can be so many possible problems that it could drive a guy nuts!

Do you have a picture of your target and groups? Sounds like your saying you had horizontal stringing. That could be a number of factors. Give us some more details. New brass? What distance from lands? Were you shooting from bipod/bags? Lead sled?

When diagnosing groups I would normally correlate Left-right stringing with inconsistent trigger pul/rifle torque. If you aren't seeing a lot of vertical dispersal, the load MIGHT not be the issue.

I am assume you have a fast enough twist to get that heavy slug spinning.