Mounting rings and scope questions

Hummer

I bought a new rifle scope and will take delivery of a new rifle next week. The gun shop offers to do the scope mounting at no cost, just as Cabela's and other storefront dealers do. I have little personal experience with scope mounting but have seen videos in which the rings are lapped with a bar and abrasive, and the screws are tightened to specified inch-pounds with a torque wrench. I have several torque wrenches but none that break in in/lbs. The shop I'm buying from uses alignment bars but doesn't lap the rings. Apparently many don't bother with lapping or with using a torque wrench. Is lapping useful/necessary?

Also, I've read the rifle maker recommends 45 in./lbs. on the front screws, 35 in/lbs. on the rear screws. Not sure exactly what this refers to so I'll have to confirm the measures. I don't know if the shop uses a proper in/lb torque wrench or if they tighten by feel as in many videos. How important is this and what do you recommend? What's your experience?

The rings I have are Talley lightweight one-piece 1" scope mounts for a Zeiss Conquest HD-5 3-15 x 42, on a Kimber Adirondack 7mm-08. I'd like confidence in the best possible accuracy and don't want to screw this up. I want to know about the value of lapping and exact screw torques, particularly with regard to the type of scope mounts I'm using. What's your opinion, should I go to a gunsmith instead? Thanks in advance.

Just buy a wheeler scope mounting kit. It comes with a torque wrench, bits, alignment bars, lapping bars etc....everything you need. Then you have it if you ever need to mount another scope. If you are looking for the best possible scope/ ring alignment then lap the rings. Is it needed? If mounted correctly with good rings then probably minimum gain. But it doesn’t hurt either.