Elk Decoy: The Real Deal or Sucker Scam?

T Chris

What's your opinion on decoys? Are they worth it to pack in on a backcountry hunt? Do they work? Would you be fine without it? I swear by them for turkeys and dove hunting, but have never tried them for big game. I'm headed out for elk and antelope this fall and considering a purchase.

I found them a distraction. Would be futzing with a decoy instead of just stalking in and killing. It may work better for people in different terrain with a different hunting style.

Elk decoys by Montana decoy work and like stated above weigh next to nothing. I think the bow mounted decoy heads look interesting, anyone used one yet?

I have been using a Montana Decoy for 10 years or more. If I'm sitting I use it, if I'm moving I don't want to fool with it. I took a nice Colorado bull in a wallow set up with one in 2008 so I will carry it just in case - forever.

I have a Montana/Fred Eichler model Cow Elk decoy. At present, I've never had the opportunity to have a Bull see it.
I do think if you called a Bull in, and he saw it, it would probably fool a rut crazed Bull. Given it's lightweight, and almost life sized, I've found even a gentle breeze can move it a bit, but even that can add to the realism. Looking at it about 15 yds. away, it looks pretty real and 3D.
The biggest hassle with it of course is the setting it up and taking it back down, which can be a distraction. But, if you tag out using it, you'll most likely be a believer!

I've killed with and without them. What really sold me though is that after I arrowed my bull, we called and he circled back to the decoy and fell dead on his way to it.

If you can set up in front of elk that are moving and call, it's worth doing.