Sitka Gear Turkey Tool Belt

First Time Hunter - Idaho Speed Goat (40,41,42)

idaho_sand

Hey all,

Recently contracted the Adult Onset Hunting Disorder and decided to put in for Idaho Pronghorn down in 40 for archery and by some glitch in the matrix, I drew. The tag looks to include 40, 41, & 42. I have talked to a few people and they say that spot and stalk are not impossible but since I have no hunting experience and my stalking skills leave much to be desired, I planed on sitting on water with a blind. Did some research and I was looking at an area down by Cow Creek Rd in 40 and I have also heard that the area down by Bruneau has some good hunting. My question is, does anyone have any advise for a first timer on these areas and any gotchas I need to keep and eye out for.

Thanks

Wish I could help, I drew the early tag and have been looking at a lot of google earth and scratching my head on what I should do.

Welcome to HT. Spot and stalk is always possible...don't let anyone tell you any different. If you plan on sitting water, there's hundreds of other people planning to sit the same water too, so you always need a plan B, C, D....

When I lived in Boise, I bowhunted antelope in Units 41 and 42 every year. Plenty of antelope to go around and really fun hunting the different habitats down there, from the open sage to the juniper flats. I had success sitting water and spot and stalk, but much prefered spot and stalk as sitting in an blind (aka oven) all day in the blistering heat didn't appeal to me. I've also muzzleloader hunted Unit 41 for antelope with good success. Usually hunted ridge tops near water where I could glass long distances and when I saw antelope committing to water, I would sneak down to the water ahead of them and just hide in the willows. My last muzzleloader harvest occurred at a whopping 4 yards. Good luck!