Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Alaska cruise out of Seattle - Fishing?

Tiredofthebickering

I'm taking my family on a 7 day Alaska cruise in the third week of September of this year. Part of me really wants to do a fishing excursion on one of the stops (Ketchikan?), but I'm not sure if it's worth the high cost. Considering that booking through the ship (I haven't looked otherwise yet) is somewhere around $300/person I was hoping someone here could help me make a decision.

Can anyone recommend, or not, going fishing in September in Alaska? And, if so, should we book through the ship or are there other local vendors that are reputable and cost effective? What are we likely to catch, if anything?

Thanks y'all.

I've no experience fishing out of Ketchikan but I have gone out a number of times from Homer, Valdez and Kodiak. September is a little late for Salmon so you would likely be fishing for halibut, ling cod and rockfish, all of which are great eating fish. I've never done a cruise so don't know how much time you would have in port unless you are planning to fish after the cruise before flying home. Most charters run either half day or full day trips so you would have to determine what time you have available. I would bet you can get better rates by researching online and making some calls yourself vs. booking through the cruise line. I've had the best experiences on boats that only take 6 people or less. I imagine you would want to bring fish home or ship some so that is another thing to think about.

What are your expectations?

The half day type trips off the cruise ships are going to be pretty short affairs and they aren't going to go very far to get to any prime fishing grounds. Not sure what would be running that late, but the Kings are catch and release this year up there around Ketchikan, I think they would already be gone by September anyway though.