Preserving antelope hide

bts09

Folks,

Interested in real-life experience with this as the internet suggests several different options. Hopefully I'll get a lope this year. I want to preserve the whole hide (I don't plan to do a mount other than perhaps a European mount). Once I skin it in the field, what's the best way to preserve the hide until I get it back home to tan it? Heavily salt the flesh side as soon as I remove it and roll it up? Fold it up tight with nothing on it and keep it on ice? Just looking for tips on how to get it home (it will be a couple of days' drive) without ruining it.

Thanks in advance.

I am by no means an expert but keep it cold and dry. Bacteria grows in warm wet environments.

I froze a cape in a chest freezer then drove home with it in a cooler. A cooler and dry ice would probably do the same thing. Good luck.

Antelope hairs are hollow, try to keep as much blood as possible off of it or they will absorb some blood. They also break off easily so handle it carefully. Roll it skin side in and keep it very cold or salt it. Keep it out of water, if you need to rinse it off let it hang dry before rolling it.
Dry ice may freezer burn it so don't get direct contact with the dry ice.

If you salt it, get as much meat off as possible (you should anyway). If you are preserving the hide, don’t drag it at all as the hairs will break. Do your cuts up the back of the legs. Should turn out really neat.