Best things done to improve hunting shooting

crock239

Would be interested to hear best tips / practices to improve shooting in hunting situations

For me, I started shooting local 3d events several times through the summer / early fall.... I don't shoot for competition scores I shoot for good arrow placement in hunting situations and it has helped tremendously with getting the sight picture right and shooting at live game.

Our events you walk a trail in the woods, then shoot one arrow at each target... Often dealing with tight windows in brush, various ranges and shot angles, uphill/downhill, different animals, mosquitoes, heart rate up a bit from the hiking, pressure from someone looking over your shoulder, etc

I mean where else in Iowa am I going to shoot a B&C antelope at 52 yds?!? Also took a great whitetail and elk in the same day! ;)

3D events shooting in front of people will help you for sure. Im a big fan of putting up treestands in the woods and practicing from them. Get you a deer on a cart and move it around the treestand to practice all angles and distances.

Practice shooting straight down.

I know several guys who have missed chip shots straight down and less than 5 yards but they are able to pinwheel the target at 80 yards all summer.....

Tune your bow out to 80 yards....but know where your bow hits at ALL ranges you plan to hunt.

Not patting myself on the back here but I have missed very few deer over the years and my kill to wounding rate is pretty impressive. Recovered 15 bucks shot with bow, 1 clean miss and 1 wounded (Shoulder shot deer survived and was killed on opener of rifle).

Practice has helped me with this percentage for sure.

Last edited:
Get some professional lessons. Helped me in archery and rifle.

I picked up a scott longhorn hex this year with my new bow, that has made a huge difference when I actually use it like you should.