Caribou Gear

Maine Moose Lottery

targetpanic

THe Maine moose lottery is happening on Saturday 6/9/18. The results will be available later that day. I have been applying since 2002...hoping this is my year to draw a tag. Is anybody else in the drawing??? I've spent a lot of time in zones 7 and 8 and some time in Zone 4 if anybody gets a tag in those zones.

I'm in, I'm down to Maine and my home state of Wyo to draw anything. Good luck!

I'm in, can't wait to say "well, maybe next year" again.

Really wish Maine would have a system set up to do automatic emails to everyone saying thanks for you money, but you didn't draw

https://www.maine.gov/ifw/hunting-trapping/moose-permit.html

A couple things to note.
1)" Note for applicants Age 65+: A recent law change guarantees a moose permit to any Maine resident applicant who is 65 years of age or older or will turn 65 during the calendar year of the hunt, who also has at least 30 points in the lottery system. Be sure to submit your application prior to the deadline and indicate all the seasons and WMDs where you are interested in getting a permit." The way the lottery system/bonus point works means that you will be guaranteed a tag when you turn 65 as long as you have been applying for 15 years. This is gonna screw up the odds for sure as a certain number of permits will get pulled out of the pool before the lottery even starts????
2) The NR "NON-RESIDENT LOTTERY
Non-Resident Applicants: 15,763
  Non-Resident Permits Issued: 207
  Non-Resident Selection Rate: 1.3% (~1 permit for every 76 applicants)
" This really tells us nothing as A) it doesn;t show you how many people are at what point level and B)you can buy as many chances in the lottery as you want!

I'm in but never "plan" on actually getting drawn. Just hoping to be surprised one day kind of like Kentucky Elk.

https://www.maine.gov/ifw/hunting-trapping/moose-permit.html

A couple things to note.