Any Specific Boot Recommendations?

kmbrewcrew

I've been looking through the forum, and have seen a few suggestions, but I was hoping to get a little more specific with a boot recommendation.

I have been using Cabela's Meindl ultralights for about 3 years. However, they started leaking after year one, and I've had wet feet on every hunt. I THINK Cabela's is going to make good on them...I'm taking them back hopefully tomorrow. That being said, I should be able to exchange them for the same boot, which I really liked the weight and the comfort of, or I can get some $$$ back and put them on something else. Reading reviews on their site would indicate that this boot tends to have the problem of leaking where the sole attaches to the leather somewhat frequently (nearly every negative review states this problem).

So, my question is: have any of you all had good luck with the Meindl ultralights from Cabela's? Did I just get one of the rare bad pairs, and will probably be safe exchanging them? Or should I just go with something different? If you think it's best to go with something else, what would you recommend? I'm looking at Danner and possibly Kenetrek (thought I'm really not sure I'm in a position to spend that kind of money right now).

I primarily hunt SW Montana (Bridgers, Gallatin Range), so something that will hold up to treks in the high country and take care of my feet are a necessity...as is waterproof, and warm!

Any recommendations would be much appreciated! Thanks all!

As far as getting the same boots again I can't help you there never owned a cabelas pair. Me personally I've ran a pair of danner proghorns for 4 years now and there still holding up strong I don't care to count how many miles I've put on them, some say danner isn't what it used to be though. When these go out I might look into crispi and kenetrek heard good things about both.