NM Mule Deer Unit 32 near Roswell Nov 10-14

mduncan

I drew my first ever NM tag for mule deer in Unit 32 for rifle Nov 10-14. Does anyone have any experience with this unit and if so, what will the weather be like that time of year and good camping locations?

This is my first time chasing mule deer and hunting New Mexico, so it will mostly be a learning trip. From the maps it looks like the public land is scattered throughout the unit in small pockets, so going to try to narrow down a region to focus my efforts on. Either way excited to see a part of the state I have never visited!

Rough hunt. I think the Pecos river is in the far south of the unit. I would there. I am not sure if it is the unit, check.

Most of the deer are on private where there is feed and water. It’s desert. I would try and find water on public, or set up on public behind private fields and try and catch them when leave.

The Pecos River does run through this unit in the northern part and borders the southern half I believe. I haven't heard very many good things about this unit, but I will try to make the best of it and it did seem to have a decent success rate, but that may be primarily on private land.

I had that tag a few years ago and it was a beat down for me. Saw WAY more hunters than deer (like 100+ hunters and maybe a couple dozen doe deer). I hunted the Salt Creek Wilderness on the Pecos, down in some area Southwest of Roswell that everyone says is the place to hunt (and there were TONS of people hunting!), and then an area due west of Roswell on the western edge of the unit.

I didn't ever see a legal buck. I wouldn't hunt that area southwest of Roswell just because the sheer number of people that were hunting it. It was amazing the density of folks and I even got a couple miles from the road (which was hard to do there are roads everywhere in there) and still had hunters walking by within 100' yards of me.