Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

DIY 2nd Hunt Choices

fmnjr

This is my first year elk hunting. Got my application/tag in for NV but the odds are slim and none for that. So, the first part of my plan is to an early spike hunt in OR with my brother who has hunted there for many years. Having not hunted elk at all, I intend to make up for lost time and opportunities and am considering choices for a late bull elk hunt as well. I'd like to be fortunate enough to get a beautiful mature bull but I'll be happy to just be able to hunt and hopefully be successful. Solo, or with a partner, either way I'm game to do the work required to get the job done. I've been researching here and elsewhere regarding where I might pull an OTC tag and would like to get some feedback where, if you were in my circumstances, you'd try to pull a tag? Colorado, Idaho, or ? Thanks for any feedback....

There are some spike and any bull general season units in UT that would be options as well as cow tags when that application period opens later. 'Twould be a closer option to consider.

I'd go Colorado. It's too late for Montana I think though you could see if they have general elk tags left after their draw.

Whatever you do, don't do Utah for a general season hunt. I've lived there and it's bad news and really not up to par with Colorado/Idaho and the rest for general tags.

Utah was, before I'd done any research, one of my choices and, it was based on similar reasoning where "it was close by". From what I can tell though, pretty much everyone regards the general hunts there as not being worth it. Personally, I don't know and would be thrilled to find out otherwise. It is the lowest cost OTC tag available.....buyer beware though, you generally get what you pay for. All the preceding led to me the notion that CO/ID would be one of the next choices. Guess I'll just have to get busy and decide which it's gonna be.