Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Real world rifle shooting positions?

rbaldini

I'm new to shooting and hunting. Will be hunting for the first time this year. I've been practicing my rifle shot from a variety of positions and distances at the range, but I thought I'd poll you experts about the real world.

Think back to the ~5 most recent rifle shots that you took on big game (antelope and larger) - including any misses! I'd love to hear some details about the shots you took. Would love to hear...
-What range were they, approximately?
-What stance did you fire from? (E.g. standing vs. kneeling vs. sitting vs. prone)
-Did you use some rest? (off-hand vs. bag vs. bipod/sticks vs. tree branch)
-How much time did you have to settle down and shoot? (E.g. spot-and-stalk with lots of time to take a shot? Or quick, opportunistic shot in the timber?)

And of course any more details or narrative would be greatly appreciated.

I'm new to shooting and hunting. Will be hunting for the first time this year. I've been practicing my rifle shot from a variety of positions and distances at the range, but I thought I'd poll you experts about the real world.

Think back to the ~5 most recent rifle shots that you took on big game (antelope and larger) - including any misses! I'd love to hear some details about the shots you took. Would love to hear...
-What range were they, approximately?
-What stance did you fire from? (E.g. standing vs. kneeling vs. sitting vs. prone)
-Did you use some rest? (off-hand vs. bag vs. bipod/sticks vs. tree branch)
-How much time did you have to settle down and shoot? (E.g. spot-and-stalk with lots of time to take a shot? Or quick, opportunistic shot in the timber?)

And of course any more details or narrative would be greatly appreciated.

I think the last 5 were: