Dog E Collar Advice

WBouldin

Hey guys,

As I posted on another thread, I am getting a GSP pup. Though I know the e collar is down the road, wondering what is needed and what is excessive.

A friend bought a Garmin Detla for $300 but I also see Sport Dog has some more cost effective options. The difference can be read on the box, but as a novice dog trainer I want to know what is actually needed and what’s excessive?

If anyone has thoughts on other brands or specific collars, I’m all for that too.

Thanks!!

Your mileage may vary, but we had a Garmin that only lasted a year. After that we went with SportDog 1825 and it has been rock solid for almost 3 years and still going strong.

I've been using SportDog for many years- I've never had any issues with them. I have used 3 or 4 different SportDog models over the years.

Dogtra and Tritronics have always been the top two collars. Garmin bought Tritronics so I know a lot of guys have said the quality has slipped.

The first Dogtra I had was the lowest level and it was solid. I was tossing a Decoy in and it caught my transmitter and ripped it off and went into the water. I went through a few batteries on it, had it long enough.

The next one only made it 2 years, the battery went and I replaced the battery and it wouldn't work.

I am on a Garmin right now. It is a lower level one and it is pretty solid, good battery life. The only thing I will say is that it isn't very hot, IE I have to put it close to max all the time with my dog.

I would run not walk from Sportdog. I have heard way to many bad stories on it.

I bought a Garmin a few years back and it has been pretty solid.

I have a Garmin Delta XC. Only issue I had with it was the antenna falling off after being to rough with it. I have had it since 2011. You can get it for about $170.