What to do in CO... an aimless rant against picking a unit.

lifesupport4u

Well here starts my rant...

I am fairly new to hunting and joined some co-workers a few years ago in Colorado. I have been hunting that area for a few years. The area is thick and overgrown and most of the elk that are killed are stumbled upon out of somewhat dumb luck. This group is in good condition, puts in a lot of miles and goes over and above what the majority of people are willing to do physically but still has a pretty low success rate overall.

I have been saying I want to find a new area for a few years.... one where I can get up high and glass a little better. A unit where my hard work and miles will give me a better success rate than we are having. I want to find a unit where I can apply a little more strategy and a little less hiking aimlessly hoping to stumble upon animals.

Now I will say I have learned a lot. Every year I have at least a couple lessons to walk away from. I have had some chances I have missed as well. However, that doesn't deter me from wanting to find a different area.

That is where my frustration comes in.... I have so much difficulty narrowing down what unit to hunt. There is a flood of information. I hate the thought of wasting a year in a bad area.

Anyone out there who finds it easy to pick a new unit? If so I envy you!

Picking a unit is tough anywhere you go unless you live near it or are able to visit it ahead of time. I find that trouble myself but the best thing to do is pick a couple of units research them the best you can, check them out on google earth, and then get on Hunttalk and start asking specific questions to see if someone can help you out and point you in the right direction.