MSR Trail Shot

D-Mac

Hey guys!
Curious if anyone has experience with this particular water filter. How’s the flow rate? Longevity of filters? Over all experience with it.

I’m running a sawyer squeeze filter now, I like it except it’s a little slow and filling up the bag is clumsy. Thinking about upgrading and I like the idea of a 5 oz pump filter. Thanks in advance!

I've got one neat little filter but not the best if you are gathering water for more than one person. My major issue is you have to squeeze it to filter the water through so better not be filtering large quantities or you better make sure your forearms are in shape! It's easy to back flush though and takes up little to no space!

Agre with NYSKIER... I used one on my mountain goat hunts this last season and it for sure did the job, and the size is really nice, but it does take some time and effort to fill a full bladde or Nalgene. Overall, I think it performs well for what it is, but if you are looking to use it a lot, or for longer trips / more people there are better options.

I have one that I keep as my backup option to my steripen. It weighs very little and will do in a pinch, but for larger quantities of water, I use the Steripen. If for any reason the Steripen stops working (which it never has), I at least have a way to get water. It also works good to keep handy for a quick drink if I am crossing a stream and don't want to set up the Steripen.

I used one last year for an elk hunt. Flow rate is good, but the pumping did make my hand cramp a little when pumping more than a couple liters of water. I don't really think it was designed for this, however. Definitely nice to have if you are in an area with good amounts of water and you can refill often. If you are packing in for more than a few days I would bring something a little more suited for larger amounts of water.