Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

Google Scouting Tips Wanted.

Jchiggins2012

Just watching FT S5 E6 and Randy mentions using google earth to find good elk retreats up in the cliffs in CO. Just wondering if any of you do this? If so.... What exactly am I looking for? Im a newbie in all regards to hunting and scouting locations.

Thanks,
J

K ** Shoulda Googled that **** **, just found a couple good videos on top of Randys E Scouting video on you.

I use ge pro for 99% of my scouting. First thing I do is mark all the roads. I don't look for bedding areas, transition area, feed areas, dark timber, or north slopes.

Roads, and lack thereof.

I use ge pro for 99% of my scouting. First thing I do is mark all the roads. I don't look for bedding areas, transition area, feed areas, dark timber, or north slopes.

Roads, and lack thereof.

I second this—I’m looking for roads. Nothing is as disheartening as hiking for a couple of hours and hearing the distinctive whine from an atv in the area you are headed. If you can find some promising country with little road access, start there (using Randy’s video series as a guide).

the areas I look for work better for sept archery. But i've had good success finding wallows, trails, and even some elk (you need really high res for that). But generally I just look for good feeding areas (wet/green), and try to use the closest aerial to the date I'll be hunting.

I look for areas away from roads or trails that are steep and where I think no one will go. Sometimes they are not that far its just where other people don't want to hike into. In my own personal experience I feel that most people in the area I hunt wont walk more than a mile in. Good luck to you!

Let's share this little secret so you can e-Scout better from your own computer using Google Maps.

Find you area via Google Maps. See next pictures for Example and info. – ColoradoHunter719
Slide1.jpg

Slide2.jpg

Slide3.jpg

Slide4.jpg