Colorado Elk Draw Hunts

TN VOL

Hey guys...I'm new to Elk hunting and didn't draw a tag in Wyoming for 2018. I've got a gohunt.com account and have been doing extensive research. I'm looking to take my teenage sons on an Elk this fall rifle or muzzleloader.(it will be our first elk hunt) Not looking for anyone's spots, just a recommendation on a which unit or units where we can get on elk or where we can actually find them..not sure if I 100% trust the harvest results for Colorado, I know we can get an OTC license but was more interested in a draw due to the fact there wouldn't be as many hunters. Also, would love to go to an area/unit where you can camp close to a river/creek or lake that has trout so we can fish! I've only been western hunting one time and it was last year for Mulies in Wyoming. Any advice would be appreciated..you can PM as well.. I'm from TN and have never been to Colorado.
Thanks!

The CPW web site has all of the info you need, but it can be hard to navigate. Look at the hunt recaps for draw odds. The hunting brochure has a wealth of information too. All muzzle loader tags are draw only, but there are some units you can draw with no points. I encourage you to apply for cow tags. Your odds of success for you first hunt are way better with cow tags. Fishing is always something I try find time for too. Most places that hold elk also have trout! Focus on the experience and having fun and your kids will never forget it.
http://cpw.state.co.us/thingstodo/Pages/BigGame.aspx

Last edited:
Welcome! I'm originally from Spring City, TN.