Yeti GOBOX Collection

Gps

JDMickTX

I'm sure this sounds like a simple subject but I have no experience with them. Here in the middle of Texas I can typically get GPS coverage on my smart phone and have played around with the onX Hunt app recently. However, I'm heading to Southeast Alaska in August, and I hope to make "get the heck out of civilization" hunts an annual thing. Having said all of that, I'm looking to get an actual GPS device and start gaining experience with it this spring and summer while hiking with the family, and I don't know where to start.

So, what makes one GPS device better than another? I'd like to have capability to use the onX maps, but beyond that, are there any particular features that stand out, or anything vital to backcountry hunting that I need to pay attention to before I purchase one?

Four years in the Corps was a great way to learn land nav.
Topo and compass are my back up to the Garmin 62s that’s in my pack.

Gps's are just about obsolete, havent used one in 6 years+. Learn how to use you cell phone as a standalone, its does everything just need to learn how to use it. Bonus is money saved buy a nice battery to recharge it, $30 what i got mine off amazon for. Just akes some time learning but it truly works awesome

Chris

Gps's are just about obsolete, havent used one in 6 years+. Learn how to use you cell phone as a standalone, its does everything just need to learn how to use it. Bonus is money saved buy a nice battery to recharge it, $30 what i got mine off amazon for. Just akes some time learning but it truly works awesome

Chris

Ah, so using the phone's GPS in offline mode with something preloaded like onX? That would certainly simplify things, I just didn't know if it was as reliable as a standalone GPS device.

The only reason I'd take a GPS over just the phone is ifbyou and buddies got the rhinos that can communicate with each other.
On x should work great but other options are backcountry navigator and Gaia