Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

Why do hunts fail?

rbaldini

Folks,

This is my first post. About me: I'm a CO resident planning to hunt for the first time this year. I've decided to go all-out: my 2018 resolution is to kill an ungulate, and I'll be doing everything I can to achieve that. My plan is to go after pronghorn, deer, and elk, taking the best tags I can get with 0 preference points. I am new to hunting, of course, but I've been backpacking and enjoying the outdoors for many years.

I'm trying to gauge the probability of achieving my goal this year. Fortunately CO publishes detailed statistics on harvest for each species, so this helps give me a baseline expectation. But I'm curious about the numbers, and specifically why some hunts fail. For example, as a general rule, *most* hunters going for OTC Bull Elk in a given year will fail (well, they don't fill a tag, anyway - one might not consider that a failure). I'm sure there are many reason why this might occur, so I thought I'd poll y'all to see why.

In particular, I wonder how much grit/determination/sticking-with-it can affect the odds. This will be my first year hunting, which means that, even with as much preparation as I intend to do (shooting, scouting, practice stalking, etc.), I just won't have as much knowledge and experience as someone with many years experience. How much can I overcome my inexperience with pure determination and off-season practice/research? In short, how much control do I have on my chance of success?

To frame this, here are some general reasons why I think hunts might fail, in a sort-of-sequential order:
1. General lack of time on the ground: It might be that many hunters just can't spend much of the season hunting, for very good reasons (like work, family). Do a large proportion of the failed tags come from guys who can only manage to hunt weekends?