Caribou Gear Tarp

waiting period?

corndog1

I am relatively new to site and have lived and hunted elk in montana for twenty five years. My friends and i wish there was a waiting period after drawing a limited entry elk tag here since some of the draw odds are getting so slim. I'm not sure if it has been brought up on this site or not?

I was on our bonus point committee that came up with the bonus points system. That was in 1998 and 1999. I was the youngest person on that committee by at least 10 years. I asked for a waiting period on limited-entry elk and deer tags that had draw odds of less than 10%. I almost got tossed for suggesting such blasphemy.

It is crazy that one person can draw 6 limited entry bull elk tags since 2004. That is how many I have drawn. Three of them with zero points. That is not good for the system. But, I'm not the one who writes the rules. I just play by the the rules of the game. Under my suggestion at the time, I would have been in the Penalty Box.

You should have seen those old gray hairs come unwound when I suggested that moose/goat/sheep should be a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. That got me tagged as certifiably nuts.

Summary of my experience is that if the proposal gets made expect the old grey haired guys to come out in force to resist such change.

I've always thought waiting periods were a great idea, but that would reduce applicants, and thus less money for the state.

It doesn't bother me at all when someone wins a tag in a lottery, but when they win it twice before you've won, that doesn't feel right. You had your hunt - let someone else give it a go!

True but since it's a bonus point system you could draw every year...

And, I could win Powerball every week for the rest of my life. Still, no waiting period there.