Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default 7mm-08 Ok for Cow Elk?

Hope to be venturing out west for my first cow hunt this coming fall, if I can ever make up my mind on a unit to apply for (yikes).

So I have a 7mm-08, its my go to rifle and I have taken multiple whitetail deer with it with great success. But I realize that elk are a smidge bigger so I just wanted to make sure this is an ethical round to use?

Round of choice: Hornady 139gr SST's

Thanks

I am no expert, but having seen this question asked and answered many times I will give it a first shot -- If you can properly place the shot, take shots within a reasonable distance (less than 350 yds or so) and use a quality bullet, 7mm08 is plenty of gun for cow and bull elk. Generally, folks will say that SST (or BT) is not really a quality elk bullet, but instead consider a 140gn Accubond, 140gn Partition, 139gn Interbond or 125gn TTX -- all have been reported to do well out of a 7mm08 for elk.
    Last edited by VikingsGuy; 01-12-2018 at 05:33 PM.
    "Freedom is NOT Free"

3. Default

Thanks Vikings. I guess I probably should have used the search function first.

Daughter killed a cow this year with 7mm08. 140 Partition. From first shot to being dead, she went 5 feet. All about shot placement.

My 7mm08 was plenty for a cow 2 years ago. I would,however, advise you to use premium bullets built for elk. Mine was 140 gr accubond.

Use that cartridge with complete confidence. I would try 140 gr. Partition, Accubond, or E-tip and go happily on your way to getting a nice cow elk!

7. Default

I appreciate all the replies. Glad to hear that the caliber is sufficient. Even more happy to get the advice about the bullet choice. Think I have some accubonds in my stash. I’ll spend some range time with them and go from there.

Yep, do as the guys say and ditch the SST for a better bullet that when put in the finals will end that cow hunt quickly!

9. Default