Any cow elk only hunters this year?

midwesthunter

I am taking a couple guys who have never elk hunted before to WY this year to go after a cow elk. We discussed bull options, but both of them would rather cut there teeth on a lower priced tag. I don't have the unit narrowed down yet that we will be going to. I'm a novice elk hunter my self. Looking forward to a week in the mountains and hopefully some full coolers.

Who else is going after a cow tag straight from the get go?

I've only hunted a cow, but that's because I haven't drawn a bull tag yet. I'm in for a Type 1 and a Type 6 this year. I'm hoping for the Type 1, but won't be crushed as long as I draw at least a Type 6.

I was drawn for a damage hunt in Central MT .
It is cow only I can shoot two.
Went first part of January and could only find Bulls .
We hunted up on to 50 bulls, no cows.
It runs to Feb 15th. I may go back and thru again first part of February.

I hunted cows only this season as I didn't draw my first choice type 1 tag and drew a type 4 as my second choice. I had every intention to pick up a General tag, been I ended up chasing grouse and antelope all September. I ended up seeing a lot of bulls. If I had been bull hunting, I'd have filled my tag on opening day and not gone elk hunting (with my own tag)again until January (drew a type 7 tag too). I'm actually glad I didn't have a bull tag. I got to spend more days afield and get a better feel for the unit for future hunts.

Last edited:
A buddy and I are hoping to pull a cow tag in WY this year. It will be our first year/first attempt at it. Studying onx, gohunt, and WY F&G until my eyes have crossed.

Cows with Cushman 2018. Researching quality tent soundproofing as we speak. That is if Uncle Sam says I can.

Headed to Wyoming this weekend for a late season cow elk hunt.