Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Plowing Snow

Southern Elk

I wanted to hear people's opinions on the best method to plow snow. We will be moving into a new house after the holidays and I will have to plow about 4/10ths of a mile of private road to get out to the county maintained road. The snow seems to drift really bad in this stretch. I initially planned on getting an ATV and plow, but I no longer think that is a viable option. The current owner is using a very small tractor and front end loader and spending hours busting drifts. This can't be a good solution either. So my question is whats the best option for clearing drifts that could be 2'-3' deep? Would a V plow on a truck do the trick? Is some type of snow blower on a tractor better? What other options do I have?

I can't help you on the snow plow question, but I would certainly think some snow fence would be a top priority.

I have some experience plowing commercially and residential. A pickup truck with an 8’ v plow will not move a 2 or 3’ deep drift that is more than a 4 or 5’ Long without killing the truck. We routinely get roads drifted like that and they quickly become traps that takes larger equipment to clear. If you get the snow fencing up you will likely be able to keep it from drifting shut and will clear it much easier. If you want to see what works you are more than welcome to come over and do ours with the big 4x4 tractor sporting a 8’ blade any time. Lol

I have a friend near McAllister who uses a logging chain on a pole out in his back yard to gauge the wind. He doesn't consider it windy until it's at a 45. Some of the snow in my yard comes from the Madison Valley.:p Good luck with that driveway................

^You are correct, Onpoint. The wind can be down right miserable. It's been howling for 3 straight days. We don't get a ton of snow. It's the drifts that I'm worried about.

Last edited: