Caribou Gear Tarp

Airline or ship meat?

VAspeedgoat

My son and I are leaving soon to fill some pronghorn tags. We have a buck and a doe tag each. We will be flying into and out of Denver but hunting in eastern Wyoming. There is a game processor that says they can freeze and ship. Would that be easier or cheaper than paying the airline to get it home? I have no experience with flying to hunt so any suggestions would be appreciated.

How much does your airline charge for overweight = 100 lbs. ? I fly Alaska and they charge $75. Antelope don't weigh much when boned out.

I'd debone it and pack in coolers for the airline.You should get 2 boned out antelope in a cooler.

I'm hoping to tag 2 Sitka Blacktails in a couple of weeks. I plan on putting the boned out frozen vacuum sealed meat into my 0* sleeping bag, and then place the sleeping bag inside of a large dry bag. Easier for airline travel and I can get more lbs. of meat from that 100 lb. maximum when I don't use a cooler. I've done this many times before.

A hundred pound box/bag would be $200 additional. I think to check more than two things (gun case and duffle) would cost $150 plus the overweight charge. Thats how I understand it. I don't have an estimate on shipping cost.

You may want to clarify that with your airline. With Alaska the first 2 bags are $25 each, every bag after that is $75. An overweight or oversize bag is $75. It's not $25 + $75, or $75 + $75. You are not double charged, they go with the highest amount only.

Last edited:
I'll go ahead and lend a helping hand, I have plenty of freezer room here in Cheyenne. Leaving it here will liberate you of all shipping stress. You're welcome. But on a serious note, good luck!

Sent you a PM. Take it on the plane, get it frozen ahead of time and keep your coolers under 50 lbs.

In my case, a 3rd checked bag cost the same as an overweight bag. So my 3rd bag might as well be 100 lbs.