MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Need opinions on meat grinder

bigdonniebrasco

sub $400

Looking at Cabelas, LEM, Weston... etc.

I'm open to anything. Won't be working it to death, maybe 250 pounds a year MAX.

1/2 horse or 3/4 horse?

Thanks!

Don

I have a 1/2 horse Cabelas grinder that I have been using for 7 or 8 years without any problems. We normally butcher 2 to 3 animals a year, so it doesnt go thru a ton of use. Trimming and prepping take much longer than grinding. I would say that it might take us an hour, maximum, to grind and bag an elk. We like to use the 1 lb bags, instead of butcher paper, and switching out bags is the bottleneck in the process. I don't know why I will ever need to increase to a larger unit.

Now the next person will tell me how much they love their LEM, and I'll be back where I started LOL!

I kinda figured that as long as I am looking at all metal gears, and .5 - 1 horse, it's probably a toss up.

Like asking for the "best" all round deer cartridge!

Thanks for the input!

Don

At about $.50/lb it is pretty cheap to have a local meat shop grind it and package it.

I have a cabelas 1/2 horse for three years... 3 elk and 5 deer still works great and looks like new

I have the cabelas 3/4hp. Processed 8 animals last fall, never needed to slow down. Get the foot pedal. No reverse was never a problem. Spring for the 3/4.

1/2 horse cabela's here and love it. For the small increase get the big one!

At about $.50/lb it is pretty cheap to have a local meat shop grind it and package it.

That seems good until the local meat shop hires an idiot and doesn't watch them close enough and your burger stinks the house up when you cook it. My Cabelas grinder was one of the best investments I've ever made! We apparently don't have dependable meat shops around here.....

I used a buddies LEM and was really disappointed. I have a STX and it walks all over his LEM for a lot less $$$