MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Idaho Fall Black Bear

bbateman

I moved back to Boise last fall and really want to get a black bear. I wasn't able to get out much during the spring season because I got married in the middle of it. I was wondering is it worth hunting black bears in the fall anywhere within a 3 hour drive of Boise?

Shit loads of black bears less than 1 hour and 20 minutes from your door step. Idaho City, Centerville, Placerville etc. Middle fork of the boise river

I've been thinking of trying for my first bear this fall as well.

In the areas around Boise, is it more spot and stalk or baiting?

Think food sources for fall, mainly berry crops.

That sounds like a good idea.

Any advice on what kind of conditions to look for to locate berry patches? I've never tried finding them before.

That sounds like a good idea.

Any advice on what kind of conditions to look for to locate berry patches? I've never tried finding them before.
I think it's late, a little too late in the season to attempt to locate bears frequenting these areas. Years ago, when bear season was typically year round, as I recall, hunting berry patches was a practical approach to locating black bears. It clearly was the most productive time of the year for spotting bears. I would often see two or three bears per day in what I often referred to as 'communal feeding areas' centered in and around areas which produced berries, especially around creeks. It's possible some bears may become habituated to visiting berry patches for a certain period of time near the end of or even shortly after the season. In any case if you're still interested in this approach send me a p.m. and I'll provide you with several locations in the 'vicinity of Boise' which should put you in 'slingshot range' of some productive areas for locating bears.

Last edited: