Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Finally made it to Montana

AubreyB

New member to to forum here. Just moved from Kansas to SW Montana in May. Seems like a great place to get to know some Montana hunters! So far i haven't had much luck looking for coyotes (since i'm not a resident yet its really my only hunting option at this point) I'm also terrible at fly fishing so far haha can't say enough how excited i am to be here and learn the ways of the mountain hunter! Any one out there got some tips for the noob?

Welcome! I'm a new MT resident as well. Where are you living?

You can pick up a deer B tag that will allow you shoot a whitetail doe.

Welcome to the forum. I'm jealous of your move to Montana and don't know the state well enough to give pointers, only advice I have is that getting out there and not catching/tagging anything is still a lot better than not being out there.

So I counted last year and there are 1,333,454,300.5 coyotes in SW MT.

I spend most of my time down in that area, where specifically are you? There is good bird hunting down that way, sage grouse, waterfowl, mountain grouse.

Nice to meet all you guys! Coming from Kansas we're big time whitetail and waterfowlers so i've definitely been on the prowl. i'm in Belgrade right now. Workin in Bozo. I agree just being out here even without a tag is far superior to not being out at all. its all 80% scouting anyway right? haha

Join Backcountry Hunters and Anglers, and get involved in the Montana chapter. You will very shortly be immersed in a bunch of great folks, and you will be pointed in the right direction in no time.

Welcome! I'm a new MT resident as well. Where are you living?

You can pick up a deer B tag that will allow you shoot a whitetail doe.

I'm in Belgrade working in bozeman. Can i get a deer B tag as a non-resident without it costing a fortune? I'll actually be able to buy resident tags the second week of november