clean bore vs fouled

p_ham

Just curious as to who prefers to sight their muzzy on a fouled bore vs clean? Personally I prefer a clean bore, mostly because I don't want to have to take a fouling shot while hunting. If I'm target shooting I don't worry about POI change, just make a note of where the fouled shots land (which is negligible out of my Accura).0827170953.jpg
This is my clean bore shot at 200yds, sitting supported using my pack as a rest. Load is 100gr blackhorn under a 290gr Barnes TMZ.

I'm fairly new to muzzleloaders, but I quickly realized it's clean bore for me. When I first started trying to sight in my T/C Impact, my groups were 3-4" at 50 yards, which was unacceptable coming from a rifle background. Started cleaning the barrel between shots and groups came down to 1-1.5". I will take a follow up shot before cleaning just to see where that fouled shot hits in case I need a second shot on an elk/deer.

First (and hopefully only) shot at an animal will be clean bore, so it makes sense to me to sight in that way.

Love that target!

I hunt with a clean bore. However, when shooting groups and sighting in, I shoot 3 shots without any cleaning. For me, if I can't shoot 3 shots without cleaning, then I'm going to change bullets, load or powder until I can!

Latest muzz gun is a Vortek StrikeFire, 50 cal. I have it shooting Federal BorLok (270 grain i think) with 120 grains of Black Horn 209. About a 1.25" group at 100 yards for a 3 shot group without cleaning until after the 3rd shot.

I shoot a clean bore while hunting and I clean the barrel after every shot on the range. It's the only way I've found for my guns to shoot consistently. Mostly shooting my TC Triumph lately

After sighting in I usually clean my knight bighorn, then shoot just a cap off, and then load and hunt from there.

Muzzleloaders I always use a clean bore, I shoot black powder so I don't want to leave it dirty for long. Centerfire rifles is another story.