New to Hunt Talk - female hunter

desertsage

Hi everyone,

Been wanting to join this community for a while and finally getting around to it. I started hunting as an adult and I'm self-taught. At the time I decided to learn, I didn't know any other hunters. The prospect of trying to find my way into the hunting community as 1) a total outsider, 2) a woman, 3) an relative "urbanite" was certainly intimidating at first. Thanks to the wonders of the internet (and forums like this one), I was able to learn a lot on my own. After a lot of trial and error, my hunting partner (and now husband) and I finally figured out how to hunt southern CA mule deer. A few years ago, I shot my first buck in a deep desert canyon in BLM wilderness.

I can now say that western backpack hunting is one of my absolute favorite things. Unfortunately, we had to leave CA last year and are 1 year into a 3-year stint in New England for work. As soon as that's done, we're planning to move back west, though exactly where has yet to be determined. I see this forum as a chance to talk about and think about mule deer, public lands, the great basin, etc, to help maintain my connection to these things while I'm stuck on the other side of the country.

-R

Hi everyone,

Been wanting to join this community for a while and finally getting around to it. I started hunting as an adult and I'm self-taught. At the time I decided to learn, I didn't know any other hunters. The prospect of trying to find my way into the hunting community as 1) a total outsider, 2) a woman, 3) an relative "urbanite" was certainly intimidating at first. Thanks to the wonders of the internet (and forums like this one), I was able to learn a lot on my own. After a lot of trial and error, my hunting partner (and now husband) and I finally figured out how to hunt southern CA mule deer. A few years ago, I shot my first buck in a deep desert canyon in BLM wilderness.