Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

Unit 50 elk New Mexico

Eyeatman

This is my first year to hunt elk though I have hunted all my life this will be a new experience. I have tried to learn what I can via videos and just picking up tidbits here and there. I have tried to find as much info as I can about this area. From what I can see on maps it's mostly open desert looking terrain. Not what I would think would be desirable elk conditions to hunt in or at least not what I imagined I'm not asking for anyone's honey hole and neither do I WANT it What I'm asking is kind of what to expect as far as quality and quantity I have an either sex tag and I would like to a bull but I want to know how picky I may should be I would appreciate any info from someone that has hunted the area

Archery elk in any unit has a steep learning curve. I like you have hunted all my life. Elk is a different animal. No pun intended. I'm assuming you're archery hunting since it's an E/S tag. I looked into that unit a bit. Theres a couple mountains in the unit that I'd look into. I'd also look at any tanks around those mountains.

As I said, archery hunting elk is different. The learning curve is steep. Don't expect anything. You have a lot working against you. You have to define what a successful hunt to you is. It took me 5 years before I took my first animal, in a unit with more animals than this one. Archery success in 50 was 12% and 18%. 15 animals were taken with 115 tags. 11 were bulls. I would not be picky.

It's a tough unit. It's a lot of pinion juniper and relatively flat. There are some areas of deep cuts where elk can find cover and shade and water. This has been a very wet monsoon this summer. That is good for the animals, but it makes the hunt even tougher. Finding water is always good but is not as critical this year.