Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Gutless method, aging, and recipes per cut

Clawsar

Hey gang,
I'm still pretty new to hunting only starting 4 seasons ago but now I've harvested two deer. When teaching myself I decided to learn the gutless method only for less confusion. The first deer went pretty well butchering the whole way through to packaging, and the second was even better, but I had most of that turned into jerky and pepper stick. This year, I really want to do everything myself again whether it's deer or elk. My method before was to cut everything off pretty much following the video guide, then let it sit on ice in a cooler with the plug open (so it doesn't sit in the water) while butchering over the next two days or so. Is this part good so far?

Next, does anyone have a good recommendation for recipes per cut of meat? I have Hank Shaws Buck Buck Moose but he starts with a whole deer/elk and some of the parts are less clear to me. Or is it better to just look up recipes part by part? Thanks!