Caribou Gear Tarp

Kimber rifle opinions

Dakota79

I have no experience with Kimber rifles and I was just wanting to hear from some of you who have. In front of the right shooter can they be a legitimate 500 yard rifle shooting moa? I'm looking at a Kimber Hunter 6.5 Creed. Please tell me what you think.

I just got a hunter recently in 7mm-08. I'm only box and a half into it with factory ammunition, but it shoots well. Anxious to experiment with some handloads.

Center load was at 50, bottom was first at 100, top has a flyer after cleaning.

20170718_120817.jpg

Last edited:
I provide homes for unloved Kimbers, just drop it in the mail.

Both of mine shoot great.

For the OPs information. If I rifle shoots MOA at 100yds and doesn't hold it at 500. As long as you started with the right twist rate for your bullet, it is almost certainly the ammo.

I've had good luck with my Montana. I have no idea what its capable of at 500 yards, as I don't practice or take shots at that distance.

Considering the two are the same barreled action, just different stocks/magazines you probably shouldn't get your hope up.

I've been down the Kimber Montana road; they're for suckers or gamblers. 1 1/2" gun that will feed if you got a good one, for $1,100. The ones that shoot better are usually prefaced with "when I do my part" which is dbl speak for "3 of the 5 were in there".

Last edited:
I like the Montana I have. It's all I've hunted with for the last 5-6 years, and has killed a lot if critters near and far. Shoots just fine for me and better than some of the others I have in the safe and a little worse than some. For a hunting rife it's more than adequate, IMO. I'm not punching paper with it, nor do I shoot much past 350 yards. It's amazing how some people get completely wrapped around the axel over a group size from a bench rest for a hunting rifle.

I'll pick up more in the future, but just don't need anyore rifles at this time.