PEAX Equipment

Remington 700 sendero vs Browning hells canyon X bolt?

Wyhunter

So here's my dilemma... I'm going to buy my next hunting rifle chambered in 300 win mag. I'm planning on mounting a gen 2 vortex razor hd scope as well. I would like something I can take to the range and shoot at 1000 meters for fun and a rifle that I'll expect to take game out to around 600 meters. (I was a combat marksmanship instructor in the marine corps so im confident im my skills). I've got it narrowed down to these 2 rifles, but still open to opinions. If you have one of them or have shot either, I'd like to hear what you thought! Budget is around 3k. Thank you!

They're both solid rifles, but feel and look wildly different. The Remington is heavier, has a two stage safety, and a hinged floor plate I believe. The Browning has a tang safety with a bolt release, is lighter, and has a drop box mag. I would pick the one I liked in the store more because they're very different.

For that budget, I would also look very hard at the Christensen Arms Mesa. It's in that same price range and has wayyyy more features than the others. 3 shot MOA guarantee, cerakoted action, muzzle brake included, fluted bolt, etc. Also the reviews for it have been very good.

Best of luck!

I have the Xbolt you want. You can read my review somewhere on here. I too was in the USMC and a DM. I can't say anything bad about my rifle, keyhole at 100, very nice out to 500 yards.

FWIW, I also have a Vortex Viper on mine with the Dope Disk, becuase for $10, why not? Don't forget they will do 40% off if you contact them direct. I'd also get the throw lever as the ring is pretty tight.

I was into my setup aroudn $2k.

The 300 win. mag. is going to be more enjoyable to shoot in the 700 Sendero than the lighter Browning.
If you want a rifle to carry for a week and shoot once or twice, buy the Browning.