Tick Removal and Care

406LIFE

With everything going around on social media, the reports that this might be one of the worst years yet for ticks, and the sheer number I have seen locally, I wanted to make sure good info was being passed along. I've dealt with tick illnesses myself and would not wish it on anyone. I'm not an expert, my source for the info below is the CDC.

Removal:
1. Use fine-tipped tweezers to grasp the tick as close to the skin's surface as possible.
2. Pull upward with steady, even pressure. Don't twist or jerk the tick; this can cause the mouth-parts to break off and remain in the skin. If this happens, remove the mouth-parts with tweezers. If you are unable to remove the mouth easily with clean tweezers, leave it alone and let the skin heal.
3. After removing the tick, thoroughly clean the bite area and your hands with rubbing alcohol, an iodine scrub, or soap and water.
Dispose of a live tick by submersing it in alcohol, placing it in a sealed bag/container, wrapping it tightly in tape, or flushing it down the toilet. Never crush a tick with your fingers. Or, wrapt it in tissue paper and freeze (this could help with identification of the tick and disease later).
4. Also check frequently over a few days for seed ticks/nymphs. They can be hard to spot until they have fed.

After care from bite:
1. Watch the area. If there is redness, take a picture to document spread.
2. Distinctive rashes form for some of the tickborne illnesses.
3. Follow up with a doctor if any symptoms appear in few days.

DON'T use a tick removal trick like peppermint oil, cotton swab, etc. This can cause the tick to regurgitate in you and spread disease. Simply pulling so that the head releases and comes out is enough.

Last edited:
Thanks 406. We were in western Colorado 1 month ago and found about 5-10 ticks crawling around on us everyday.